Pipe Tobacco Review – Frog Morton by McClelland

Hope every one had a great weekend! The weather was sunny and pleasant here. Main Street Pipers-pipe club had their first club meeting at SmokesOnMain in West Bend, WI. It was a great time for everyone and I can’t wait till the next meeting.

Marty from SmokesOnMain asked me to review one of the new blends at the shop and of course I said yes!!! So for tonight’s review and for your enjoyment will be McClelland’s Frog Morton.

Pipe: Eric Berks freehand briar

Tobacco: Latakia, Virginia

Cut: Ribbon, rough cut

Tin aroma: Frog Morton had the aroma of a nice earthy fireplace with a hint of Virginia natural sweetness. Overall, it was rich with slight citrus notes in the background. It also had leather notes.

Pack method: 3 tier method

Taste: The flavor was smooth and rich with slightly sweet citrus notes. The smoke itself had a hard wood smoke aroma, that builds in strength more you smoke, with less sweetness and more body and richness thereby losing its citrus nuances.

Strength: Medium to medium full

Room notes: It has a nicely rich earthiness with hard wood smoke that lends in the beginning a sweetness of the Virginia. Over time, that builds to a fuller strength of wood smoke.

Notes: The tin art looks whimsical; funny, yet nicely done. I found the tin notes of the Latakia are forward with the natural sweetness in the background. It packs well right out of the tin. The first half of my bowl I noticed a medium taste of the natural sweetness with citrus nuances in the background. On the last half of the bowl I noticed the sweetness/citrus notes fading more as the Latakia is building more of its smokiness and strength to medium full. Through out the smoke had no gurgling or tongue bite. Frog Morton is a smooth, cool smoke as long as you smoke it slow. I guess Frog Mortons original in it series is a very good blend to compare with the others in its series. For that reason, I can’t wait to try the other Frog Mortons. I recommend this English blend for its flavor, med/medium full, and ease to smoke. If you never had Frog Morton original I recommend it for sure!!!!!!

Rate: 3.5 out of 5

Keep on puffin!!!
The Piper

The Good Wife’s Review:

Well kids, my husband has smoked this twice today. The first time I was really nicely surprised. But before I even get that far, let me tell you the tin note and room aroma are both quite strong. I wouldn’t suggest smoking this blend inside unless you are right next to an open door, and even then, smoke a short bowl please. Frog Morton has a very strong mesquite barbeque aroma for me. Which, once again, outside is fabulous but inside it can overpower quickly and destroy the ability to sit comfortably in an enclosed space. It also reminds me, oddly enough; of the first time you open a package of beef jerky. It has that rich, smoky, beefy scent. Lastly, during the first run with this tobacco I detected a rich buttery note, which I found very pleasing. It reminded me of butter melted over corn on the cob but without the added corn sweetness. Now, for the second take. Once again, it was strong and barbeque laden with hints of meat and butter so that didn’t change one bit. However, for whatever reason I found it overwhelming this time. My lungs didn’t like it nearly as well. In fairness hubby had tried another blend in between the two bowls of Frog and it had been a good five hours between them so maybe I was just smoked out for the day. Because of this second experience I would state, Frog Morton is a nice blend of outdoorsy smells that should work well at a picnic or out on the patio. I would not recommend it inside in the dead of winter, unless you like sitting inside the smoker at a barbeque restaurant.

P.S. I will further state that my cat, who was sleeping near him, agrees as by the end of my husbands bowl the poor cat had a sneezing fit the likes of which I have never seen before.

Leave a Reply

